Conference write-up

Xerocon London 2026


Dates8-9 July 2026
LocationOlympia, London
HostXero
Written up2026-08-15
Last verified2026-08-15

The short version

Xero used its UK flagship to move JAX from something that advises to something that acts, and to confirm that Xero Ultra is coming to the UK. Six of the ten dated commitments made at or around the event are still outstanding five weeks later, and four of the headline AI features were announced with no delivery date at all.

The absence was louder than any announcement: there was no standalone payroll news, for a vendor with a stated US payroll ambition. That gap was closed a month later, away from any stage.

Back to the Xero profile →

Commitment tracker

Every commitment made with a stated date, and whether it landed. This is the part no vendor publishes about itself.

2
Landed
4
Outstanding
4
No date given
CommitmentIn their wordsStatusEvidence
Xero Ultra generally available in Australia at A$500 a month
Australia
“GA from 7 July 2026”
Landed
Shipped on the stated date, the day before the conference opened. Source
Smart Document Capture available to customers
UK, US and most markets
“Available now”
Landed
Live in most markets at announcement. Australia and New Zealand remain in beta. Source
Xero Corporation Tax as a paid UK annual add-on, after HMRC closes CATO
United Kingdom
“Coming to the platform later this year”
Outstanding
No launch announcement, pricing page, release note or help-centre article found as of 15 August 2026. ⚠️ Our own signal of 8 July recorded this as "from August 2026", a firmer date than Xero actually gave. See the note below.
Xero Ultra beta in the United Kingdom
United Kingdom
“Expected autumn 2026”
Outstanding
No UK beta date, pricing or sign-up mechanism published as of 15 August 2026.
Partner Hub gains book-health, job-status and JAX document chasing
UK and nine further markets
“Available from October”
Outstanding
Not yet due. Partner Hub itself is already live across ten markets. ⚠️ WATCH, added 2026-08-20: at Xerocon Denver on 19 August the Document Requests capability was described only as "coming soon" and THE OCTOBER DATE WAS NOT REPEATED. A commitment that carried a month in July carries none in August. That is not evidence of a slip, and it is exactly the shape a slip would take, so it is recorded rather than concluded. Re-check at 31 Oct. Source
XeroForce agent builder reaches general availability
Global
“General availability coming later this year”
Outstanding
Still in early access. Restated word for word at Xerocon Denver on 19 August 2026: "XeroForce is currently in early access with general availability later this year." Six weeks on, the same promise and the same absence of a date.
JAX Bill Protection inspects bills before payment
Not stated
“Beta”
No date given
Announced as beta with no general-availability date. Still beta as of 15 August.
JAX Cash Flow Actions for preventative cash planning
Not stated
“Beta”
No date given
Announced as beta with no general-availability date. Still beta as of 15 August.
JAX Payment Follow Ups runs tailored collection plans autonomously
Not stated
“Coming soon”
No date given
No date given at announcement and none since.
Auto Bank Reconciliation handles complex cases including payment splitting
Not stated
“Coming soon”
No date given
The base feature has been in open beta since November 2025 with over 100 million transactions reconciled. The harder cases remain unscheduled. UPDATED AT XEROCON DENVER, 19 August 2026: the wording moves from "coming soon" to "in the coming months", and the 100 million figure is restated. Marginally tighter language, still no date.

The signals this is built from

Each was published at the time, on its own date. This write-up adds the synthesis, not the facts.

2026-07-07Xero's Partner Hub Goes Live UK-Wide With A JAX Chat AI BetaCompressing a portfolio review to seconds is a bid for the accounting channel that decides which platform small businesses end up on.2026-07-08Xero Ships Executing Agents At Xerocon And Aims Ultra At The ERP Graduation PathXero's Ultra tier is built to keep a scaling small business from ever needing to graduate to a real ERP.

What was announced, and what was not

The announcements. JAX gained three capabilities that act rather than advise: Bill Protection, which inspects every bill before payment and flags unusual amounts, altered bank details and unfamiliar suppliers; Payment Follow Ups, which reads a customer's payment history and runs collection plans on its own; and Cash Flow Actions. Smart Document Capture went live in most markets. Auto Bank Reconciliation was demonstrated, having been in open beta since November.

Xero Ultra, the Syft-powered top tier, went generally available in Australia at A$500 a month the day before the conference opened, and was confirmed for a UK beta in autumn. The chief executive disclosed roughly 20,000 customers connected to the Claude integration about sixty days after launch. Xero passed 5 million customers globally.

What was not announced. No payroll. Not a session, not a slide, not a line in the release. For a company whose UK payroll caps out well below the mid-market and whose US payroll ambition is a matter of public record, an entire flagship conference without payroll is a positioning statement in itself.

And no prices. Not for Xero Ultra in the UK, not for Corporation Tax, not for any of the AI features. One trade outlet was the only one to say so.

What has happened since

- 12 August. Xero launched Xero Payroll, powered by Gusto, generally available for US small businesses at $36 a month plus $6 per employee. Xero framed it as completing a three-by-three strategy of accounting, payments and payroll. The payroll gap from London was filled a week before the next Xerocon, through a partnership rather than a build, and outside any conference. The timing sits against Intuit's QuickBooks Desktop 2023 end of support on 31 May. - Corporation Tax was never promised for August. Early coverage of the announcement, this site's included, described it as a paid UK annual add-on arriving from August 2026. Xero's own blog said only "coming to the platform later this year", with no month and no price. The commitment table above records the vendor's wording rather than the paraphrase. It is now mid-August with no launch, and on the vendor's actual words nothing is late. - The JAX capabilities have not moved. All three were beta or "coming soon" on 8 July and all three remain so. - XeroForce is still early access, with general availability still described as later this year.

The read

The trade press was almost entirely uncritical, and one outlet was the exception. CPA Practice Advisor, International Accounting Bulletin and Insightful Accountant ran the announcements straight: no competitor comparison, no independent verification, no scepticism. AccountingWEB was largely descriptive but was the only mainstream outlet to note that no pricing was given for Ultra or the AI features, and that no practitioner interviews were included.

The Firm, on 21 July, was the only piece that did the job. Its line was that "none of it came with a rate card," and it connected the AI showcase directly to Xero's recent subscription price rise, which is a connection no press release volunteers. It quoted UK accountants saying they would "trade the entire keynote for bank feeds that stay connected." It advised practitioners not to build a service line on the cash-flow suite yet, called XeroForce "genuinely interesting; also the most wait-and-see item on the list," and read Smart Document Capture as a direct shot at the Dext-and-Hubdoc-shaped line in a practice's software budget.

That last point is the one worth carrying. Xero is not only adding AI features, it is absorbing categories its own app ecosystem sells into. A partner conference where the platform quietly competes with its partners is a tension that will not stay quiet.

On the announcements themselves: four of the ten dated commitments carried no date at all. A capability announced as beta with no general-availability date is a positioning claim, not a shipping one, and five weeks of silence on all four is the evidence for reading them that way.

What to watch

- Xerocon Denver, 19-20 August. Two independent session previews show no standalone payroll session, even now that US payroll has shipped. The Gusto partnership appears through a Karbon integration showcase rather than a keynote. If payroll gets no stage time in Denver either, one week after launching it, that is a deliberate choice about what Xero wants this audience to hear. - Whether Corporation Tax lands before the end of the year, and at what price. This is the commitment with the largest gap between what our corpus recorded and what Xero said. - Whether Xero Ultra's UK beta appears in autumn, and whether UK pricing tracks the A$500 Australian figure. - Whether any JAX capability leaves beta. Three have now sat there for five weeks with no date.

About this page. Announcements are recorded in the vendor's own words on the day they are made, and each commitment is re-checked against what actually arrives. Where a date was promised, this page will say whether it was met.