Competitor Profile

BrightPay


Where this is heading

BrightPay is the best-evidenced native Irish payroll filer in this set, running Revenue Online Service and PAYE Modernisation directly, alongside a substantial UK business serving 330,000-plus employers both direct and through accounting bureaux running multi-client payroll.

The read: this is the CIS finding that breaks a standing claim on this site. BrightPay does the full job, subcontractor verification, deduction calculation and CIS300 filing, confirmed against HMRC's own CIS supplier list as well as its own documentation. A published claim held that only six of 33 tracked vendors handle CIS, and called it a narrow moat. Against HMRC's register of roughly 110 suppliers, that was a statement about this watchlist. CIS is a moat against horizontal HR suites, not in UK payroll.

The live opening is a forced migration. BrightPay is moving customers off desktop to cloud by December 2026, it is not optional, and published pricing tiers are being replaced by quote-based cloud pricing. A forced migration with opaque pricing is the moment an installed base re-decides, and it is the single most actionable competitive window in this batch. Three CEOs since 2022 sits behind it.

One disambiguation worth carrying, because the sources blur it: Bright Group and IRIS Software Group are separate companies. They share an investor in Hg Capital and nothing else. Treating BrightPay as part of IRIS would misread both.

At a glance

330,000+ employers; 91,000 of them Irish
employers using BrightPay across the UK and Ireland, within a wider Bright base of 400,000 businesses using its full accounting-practice suite. Bright's own August 2026 figures put Ireland at 91,000 businesses and roughly 674,000 employees paid each month, against 3.5 million employees processed monthly across all markets combined
confirmed full CIS: verification, deduction, CIS300
BrightPay appears on HMRC's own Construction Industry Scheme commercial software suppliers list, and its documentation confirms subcontractor verification, deduction calculation and CIS300 monthly filing, independent of BrightPay's separately confirmed HMRC RTI/PAYE recognition
desktop retired, cloud mandatory by December 2026
BrightPay Desktop loses support at the start of the 2026/27 UK tax year, Employee Self-Service access for desktop customers ends 1 January 2027, and all customers must migrate to BrightPay Cloud, priced by custom quote rather than published tiers
3 CEOs since August 2022
leadership turnover from Kevin McCallum, to Stephen Murdoch from October 2023, to Ben Bishop promoted 15 July 2026, landing concurrently with the forced cloud migration and a new AI investment push

What they offer

How the product hangs together, at the level a product leader needs to place it.

BrightPay is a payroll software product built by Bright Group, an Irish-headquartered business based in Duleek, Co. Meath, whose UK trading entity is Bright Sg Limited, named Thesaurus Software Ltd until July 2024. The group was formed in September 2021 when Thesaurus Software, BrightPay's original owner, merged with Relate Software, an accounting-practice compliance suite. BrightPay itself launched as a distinct UK product in February 2012, building on Thesaurus's decades of Irish payroll compliance experience dating to the early 1990s. Bright Group is majority owned by private equity firm Hg Capital, which first invested GBP 15.4 million in BrightPay and Thesaurus in 2018 and became majority investor in the combined group at the 2021 merger, with Barings also backing the deal. The control position is on the public register rather than only in the press: Companies House records Hg Pooled Management Limited as the sole active person with significant control of Bright Sg Limited, holding 75 percent or more of both shares and voting rights plus the right to appoint and remove directors, notified in October 2021. Hg holds control of two of the three largest UK payroll and HR software companies by market share, Bright and IRIS. Founders Paul Byrne (BrightPay/Thesaurus) and Ray Rogers (Relate) remain significant investors.

BrightPay markets itself as Ireland's most widely used payroll software, a vendor claim repeated by third-party directories but not independently benchmarked by market research found in published sources, and is a substantial UK payroll vendor: the company states more than 330,000 employers use BrightPay across the UK and Ireland, and Bright Group overall serves 400,000 businesses across its full product suite. In Ireland specifically, Bright's own August 2026 figures are 91,000 businesses and roughly 674,000 employees paid each month; the 3.5 million employees processed monthly that BrightPay also publishes is its ALL-MARKETS total,. The product is built for both direct SMB use and, distinctly, as an engine for accounting bureaus and practices running payroll for many clients at once, a first-class use case rather than an afterthought: BrightPay for Bureaus lets a practice finalize payslips, check HMRC coding notices, and submit RTI and CIS filings for dozens of clients from a single console.

The core proposition is native statutory compliance built in-house rather than bolted on: real-time filing to Ireland's Revenue Online Service under PAYE Modernisation, with Revenue Payroll Notifications pulled automatically before each pay run and no separate ROS login required; UK RTI submissions, Full Payment Submission, Employer Payment Summary, NINO Verification Request and Earlier Year Update, filed directly with HMRC; UK auto-enrolment pension submissions via direct API integration with NEST, The People's Pension, Smart Pension and Aviva, plus CSV-based support for other schemes; and full UK Construction Industry Scheme handling, covering subcontractor verification with HMRC, deduction calculation, and monthly CIS300 filing, detailed further below. BrightPay supports Ireland's My Future Fund auto-enrolment retirement scheme, which went live on 1 January 2026 under the Automatic Enrolment Retirement Savings System Act 2024 after being deferred from an original 30 September 2025 start.

Beyond BrightPay itself, Bright Group has assembled a broader accounting-practice software suite through acquisition: BrightManager (practice management, formerly AccountancyManager), BrightAccountsProduction, BrightBooks, BrightPropose, Inform Direct (company secretarial), BrightTax, BrightExpenses, BrightWorkpapers (formerly MyWorkpapers), BrightCIS (a newer standalone CIS product, described further below), TimeKeeper and BrightChecks (identity verification), positioning BrightPay as the payroll anchor of a wider end-to-end cloud practice suite for accountants rather than a standalone point product. The company completed the BTCSoftware (UK tax software) acquisition as part of this build-out, following earlier acquisitions of AccountancyManager, Inform Direct and MyWorkpapers.

BrightPay's desktop product, its historical core offering, is being retired: it reaches end of updates, support and legislative compliance at the start of the 2026/27 UK tax year, with Employee Self-Service portal access for desktop customers cut off after 1 January 2027, and a December 2026 migration deadline pushing all customers onto BrightPay Cloud, hosted on Azure. This is a forced, non-optional platform transition for the entire installed base.

Where they compete

Geographic footprint, and where payroll is native rather than partner-delivered.

South Africa: NOT SERVED. No source found describes any South African presence, native filing capability, or partner arrangement for BrightPay or Bright Group; the company's evidenced addressable geography is confined to Ireland and the UK.

United Kingdom: NATIVE. BrightPay, under legal entity Bright Software Group Ltd, is directly confirmed on HMRC's own recognised payroll software list for RTI and PAYE, filing Full Payment Submission, Employer Payment Summary, NINO Verification Request and Earlier Year Update directly with HMRC. Auto-enrolment pension filing is native via direct API integration with four named providers, NEST, The People's Pension, Smart Pension and Aviva, with CSV-based support for other schemes. Construction Industry Scheme support is independently confirmed and comprehensive: BrightPay appears on HMRC's own CIS commercial software suppliers list, which HMRC states is reserved for products proven able to file a valid CIS300 return, and BrightPay's own documentation confirms all three components of full CIS handling: subcontractor verification requests submitted directly to HMRC before a contract starts, calculation of CIS deductions with Payment and Deduction Statements generated automatically, and monthly CIS300 return filing with deadline logic built in. A newer, standalone cloud product called BrightCIS layers on top, integrating back into BrightPay's P30 and adding near-instant subcontractor payments via Modulr plus batch CIS300 submission across multiple contractors; whether BrightCIS is now the sole forward path or an add-on alongside BrightPay's bundled CIS module was not fully resolved, since the older dedicated CIS product pages on both brightpay.co.uk and brightsg.com now redirect to BrightCIS.

Ireland, within EU/EMEA: NATIVE, and this is BrightPay's strongest and best-evidenced market. BrightPay integrates directly with Revenue Online Service under PAYE Modernisation, pulling Revenue Payroll Notifications automatically ahead of each pay run and submitting payroll data to Revenue in real time each pay period, satisfying Ireland's real-time reporting requirement without a separate ROS login step. Bright's own August 2026 figures put its Irish base at 91,000 businesses and roughly 674,000 employees paid monthly; the separately published 3.5 million employees processed monthly is the all-markets total and is not an Irish figure. BrightPay shipped support for Ireland's My Future Fund auto-enrolment retirement scheme on its go-live date of 1 January 2026. No coverage of any EU market beyond Ireland was found; Bright Group's footprint outside Ireland and the UK is not evidenced anywhere in this research.

North America: NOT SERVED. No source found describes any US or Canadian presence, product, or customer for BrightPay or Bright Group.

Positioning and pricing

BrightPay sells primarily to two overlapping buyers: the small or mid-sized business running its own payroll directly, skewing small, with an estimated 65% of the installed base under 50 employees per third-party technographic sampling, and the accounting bureau or practice running payroll on behalf of many client employers at once, a channel BrightPay treats as a first-class product line rather than a side case. The pitch against platform incumbents like Sage is a specialist, price-competitive, bureau-friendly payroll point product rather than payroll bundled inside a broader accounting suite; against cloud-first rivals like IRIS's Staffology, the pitch has historically been simple, transparent, low-cost desktop licensing, though that differentiator is being retired along with the desktop product itself.

UK desktop pricing for the 2025/26 tax year, its final year of sale, is tiered by employee count and paid annually excluding VAT: GBP 79 for up to 3 employees, GBP 139 for up to 10, GBP 209 for up to 25, and GBP 289 for unlimited employees. From the 2026/27 tax year, UK customers move to BrightPay Cloud, priced on a custom subscription basis driven by the highest recorded employer and employee count in a billing period, with no published tier grid, a meaningful pricing-transparency change from the flat desktop tiers it replaces.

Irish pricing remains published and tiered: free for a single employee, EUR 229 for up to 10 employees, EUR 349 for up to 25, and EUR 459 for unlimited employees under a single employer, with a separate Bureau license priced by number of client employers rather than total employees, EUR 489 for up to 10 employers, EUR 709 for up to 25, and EUR 949 for unlimited employers. A cloud add-on, BrightPay Connect, is priced per active employee per month, from roughly GBP 0.60 in the UK, from roughly EUR 0.71 in Ireland scaling to around EUR 39.77 for 100 employees, though Connect access for desktop-license customers is itself being phased out by 2027 as part of the forced cloud migration.

No separate AI pricing line was found; Oscar and Bright's other AI features are described as bundled product capabilities rather than paid add-ons in every source found. Primary check, 25 August 2026: the UK site publishes no price on any of its pricing, download or home pages, and the Irish site publishes a full public grid. The historical claim that this vendor competes on simple transparent pricing is now true in Ireland and unverifiable in the UK, which is where it is moving an installed base off a product it is retiring.

AI capabilities

Bright's AI investment is real and shipped, not merely announced, and spans beyond BrightPay into the wider product suite. The flagship shipped feature is Oscar, an AI employee-onboarding assistant that contacts new starters via WhatsApp, conversationally collects onboarding data such as personal details and National Insurance numbers, and sends an encrypted secure link for sensitive fields like bank details. As of Bright's own 16 August 2026 post, the mechanism is described in primary detail: Oscar opens contact over WhatsApp, collects personal details, National Insurance number, tax information and supporting documents, routes bank details through a separate secure portal, reads and extracts data from uploaded documents such as P45s, validates as information arrives, prompts the starter to correct anything missing or unclear, and hands the practice clean, payroll-ready data that a human approves inside BrightPay. Vendor figures are five to seven days down to approximately 1.5 hours, under five minutes of team time per starter, and 250-plus hours freed on a 50-starter summer intake. The shape is a data-collection agent behind a human gate, which is the safest available design and the one the market has converged on. What is absent is what is absent everywhere: no extraction accuracy figure, no error rate on the P45 read, and no statement of what the approver is shown when Oscar's validation was wrong rather than merely incomplete. WhatsApp as the intake channel is the genuinely unusual choice, and it places National Insurance numbers in a consumer messaging app on the employee's own device.

Per Bright's own Q2 2026 product update, shipped AI capability extends across the suite: BrightAccountsProduction gained an AI-generated trends report analyzing up to six years of client financials with automated commentary and graphs, and Inform Direct added an AI-enabled instant question-and-answer support widget. Announced but not yet shipped as of published sources: an AI co-worker for BrightWorkpapers checklist automation, and two named AI agents in development, Charlie for query routing and Pippa for client communications.

Leadership signaling reinforces that AI is a top-level strategic priority rather than a side feature: Ben Bishop, promoted to CEO on 15 July 2026, with prior CEO Stephen Murdoch moving to Executive Chair, is described in Bright's own announcement as the driving force behind how the company thinks about AI.

No first-party or third-party MCP server, integration, or announcement was found for BrightPay or Bright Group in published sources; the only MCP-related search hits referenced Bright Data, an unrelated company with a similarly sounding name. No underlying AI model provider is disclosed for Oscar or any other Bright AI feature in any source found. Bright's posture is best classified as in-product AI copilot and automation features shipping across its suite, not agentic-execution or MCP-exposed.

On 14 August 2026 Bright published a four-part framework telling practices how to judge a vendor's AI maturity: whether AI sits in the core workflow or is bolted on, whether the vendor can explain its data model, its validation and its behaviour on incomplete or edge-case data, whether it produces an audit trail able to prove what was done, when, by whom and why to a regulator or insurer, and whether there is a roadmap rather than a one-off feature. It is a better checklist than most this market publishes, and it contains no accuracy rate, no error rate and no evaluation method. A vendor writing the buyer's checklist has an interest in which questions appear on it, and this one is scoped to governance and provenance while stopping precisely short of correctness.

Where they're beatable

Diagnosis and the play together. Each is a live attack vector, not a general weakness.

Forced cloud migration and pricing opacity, and both are UNITED KINGDOM ONLY on the evidence available: BrightPay Desktop, the product's historical low-cost, transparent-pricing differentiator, is being retired outright, with support ending at the start of the 2026/27 UK tax year, Employee Self-Service cut off after 1 January 2027, and a December 2026 hard migration deadline. The replacement, BrightPay Cloud, moves to custom quote-based pricing with no published tier grid, and at least one reviewer reported a quote jumping from GBP 750 to GBP 2,500 for 2026/27, more than three times the prior cost. Competitors can target BrightPay's desktop-loyal customer base directly during this forced transition window, leading with published, transparent per-employee pricing precisely where BrightPay has just removed its own.

Cloud reliability complaints during peak processing: user reviews describe the new Azure-hosted BrightPay Cloud platform as not consistently available, particularly during peak processing periods, with some customers saying the move was forced on them despite being satisfied with desktop and seeing no operational benefit from switching. Competitors selling on month-end reliability, the exact moment payroll customers are least tolerant of downtime, have a specific, evidenced complaint to raise in competitive displacement conversations, particularly against customers mid-migration.

Leadership churn concurrent with platform transition: Bright has had three CEOs since August 2022, Kevin McCallum from August 2022 on lower-confidence sourcing, Stephen Murdoch from October 2023, and Ben Bishop from 15 July 2026, plus a board chair departure after four years, all landing in the same window as the forced desktop-to-cloud migration and a heavy new AI investment push. This is a legitimate vendor-risk and execution-continuity talking point for competitors selling stability to prospects currently evaluating BrightPay, without needing to speculate beyond the disclosed leadership changes themselves.

CIS product ambiguity: Bright currently runs two overlapping CIS offerings, a bundled module inside BrightPay and a newer standalone BrightCIS product, with the older dedicated CIS landing pages now redirecting to BrightCIS and no clear public statement on whether the bundled module is being retired. Competitors with a single, unambiguous CIS product can use this packaging confusion directly in construction-sector sales conversations against BrightPay, where buyers evaluating CIS specifically need clarity on what they are actually buying.

No AI model transparency or MCP exposure: despite genuine, shipped AI features, Oscar, AI trends reports, AI question-and-answer widgets, Bright discloses no underlying model provider anywhere found, and has no MCP server of any kind, first-party or third-party. A competitor that can name its model provider and demonstrate real MCP-based agent connectivity has a materially more credible AI-platform story for technically sophisticated buyers, larger bureaus and tech-forward SMBs, evaluating AI roadmap depth rather than single-feature AI additions. Verified against primaries on 25 August 2026, and the geography matters more than the vulnerability. The UK pricing page, download page and homepage carry no price at all, not one pound figure and no quote language, while brightpay.ie publishes a complete grid: employer licences at 459, 349 and 229 euro by employee count, bureau licences at 949, 709 and 489 euro by client count, per tax year excluding VAT, plus a metered Connect scale from 0.71 euro a month at one employee. Ireland also carries no discontinuation, end-of-support or migration-deadline language on its homepage, its desktop product page or its download page, and is still selling 2026 tax-year desktop licences. So the forced migration and the quote wall are a UK programme, and Ireland, which is 91,000 of this vendor's businesses and the market where it is best evidenced, is untouched by both. A competitive play built on the migration window is a UK play and does not travel to Ireland.

Acquisitions

What BrightPay has bought, where each sits now, and what it says about direction. None of these are signals; they are standing facts about who owns what.

AcquisitionDetail and where it sits nowWhat it means
June 2024
Digital working papers for accountants · Undisclosed
Co-brandedNot disclosed
Continues under its own myworkpapers.com brand, marketed alongside Bright.
Extends the practice suite into Australia for the first time. Geographic as well as product expansion, again with no bearing on the payroll line.
October 2022
Tax compliance and practice software · Undisclosed
Co-brandedNot disclosed
Continues under its own name at btcsoftware.co.uk, described as part of the Bright family.
Adds tax compliance to the practice stack. Another piece built around, not inside, the payroll product.
March 2022
Cloud practice management for accountants · Undisclosed
AbsorbedAbsorbed
Rebranded BrightManager, retiring the original name. Product literature now refers to it as BrightManager, formerly AccountancyManager.
Framed by Bright as accelerating its ambition to challenge Sage, IRIS and Xero. A competitive-positioning buy aimed at the accountant practice market rather than payroll.
September 2021
Accounting, tax and practice management · Undisclosed
StandaloneNot disclosed
Relate continues to sell under its own name and site, as does BrightPay, both within the Bright group structure.
The transaction that created Bright. BrightPay did not so much acquire Relate as merge with it under common PE ownership, and everything that follows happened because of this deal.

Checked 2026-08-15. Operating cadence and status are re-checked on each profile refresh; a change of state is itself a finding, because nobody announces the day an acquisition finishes being absorbed.

Recent moves

The latest signals where BrightPay is the subject. Full history on the signals page.

All signals →

The calls on them

The live predictions whose evidence rests on this vendor, including the ones going against us.